Free Range Nurse

Cooking therapy from a former travel nurse

Sunshine Tart March 2, 2010

One of the blogs I read, White on Rice Couple, recently featured both Meyer Lemon Margaritas and Meyer Lemon Bars.  Apparently those lemons are pretty easy to come by, for them, because they grow in their backyard.  I am not so lucky and after three trips to Central Market and Whole Foods, I finally found some.  I bought a dozen!  Then began the week and a half of 12 hour shifts up at work and the lemons sat patiently in the fridge.  I had every intention of making something with them on Monday, but spent much of the day sleeping.  I did get a couple of those lemon margaritas made and consumed.  Tuesday and Wednesday weren’t much better.  Still not sleeping on a normal schedule, I didn’t really cook much.  On Thursday, it was a new day!  I was awake at 7:00 a.m. and ready to go!

I kept the curd recipe exactly as written, although, if I had it to do over, I’d cut back the sugar by 1/4 cup.  I don’t have much of a sweet tooth and the Meyers are sweet as is.  My husband was quite satisfied with the amount of sugar in it.  He has an entire jaw full of sweet teeth.  For the crust, I decided to go with a shortbread cookie crust in a tart pan, kind of like a giant thumbprint cookie.

Overall, my first impression of Meyers is, where have they been all my life!  They have such a delicious, sweet, bright taste sure to bring out the sun on even the most cloudy of days.  Go out and find some today and enjoy!

Ingredients:

Curd:

recipe from White on Rice Couple

  • 10 large egg yolks (I know, but try not to think of the cholesterol)
  • 1 1/4 cup sugar.  I would back this down to 1 cup if you are using Meyer lemons.
  • finely grated zest of 4 lemons
  • 3/4 cups freshly squeezed lemon juice (Meyer or Eureka)
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 13 tablespoons cold unsalted butter, cut into small cubes.

Shortbread Crust:

recipe from Dee at AllRecipes.com

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 2/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon almond extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  In a medium bowl, cream together butter and sugar until smooth.  Mix in almond extract.  Mix flour in until dough comes together.

Press into the bottom of a round tart pan and up the sides.  Prick the dough with the tines of a fork to prevent it puffing up too much.  Bake in the oven for 15-20 minutes until edges are lightly browned.  Remove from oven and gently press any areas that have puffed up.  Let the crust cool in the pan, on a rack.

While the crust is baking, start on the lemon curd.

Combine egg yolks, sugar, zest and juice in a saucepan.  Gently cook over medium heat, stirring constantly.  I used medium-low heat and gradually increased it to medium so as not to scramble the yolks.

Continue to heat until the mixture coats the back of a wooden spoon so that a finger drawn across it makes a visible, sustained line.  This took about 15 minutes.

Remove from heat and add the butter a few cubes at a time, stirring after each addition until it is fully incorporated.  Add salt and stir.

Strain mixture through a fine mesh sieve using a spatula to help push it through.  You will have the zest and pulp left in the strainer with the silky curd is in the bowl below.  Pour curd into cooled tart crust and chill in the refrigerator for a couple of hours until set.

Before serving, you can dust the tart with a sprinkling of confectioner’s sugar.  Slice and enjoy!

NOTE: I have since made it again with Eureka lemons and just one cup of sugar.  Perfect!

 

2 Responses to “Sunshine Tart”

  1. Eileen Says:

    MMMMMMMMMMM. Makes my mouth water just looking at it

  2. It looks lovely. One day I’ll find Meyer lemons….and make loads of things with them…


Leave a Reply

