Free Range Nurse

Cooking therapy from a former travel nurse

Making Memories January 1, 2010

Filed under: family — freerangenurse @ 5:20 pm

I love to hear my daughter reflect back on things we’ve done and remember our good times.  Being an only child is lonely for her at times and I know she wishes she had a sibling to share things with.  Sydney was a twin, but unfortunately, my water broke at 10 weeks and we lost her twin.  Sydney’s amniotic sac remained intact and I was able to carry her to term…past term, actually.  She didn’t want to leave me then and 11 years later, she’s the same way.  Always stuck by my side, or on my lap, or touching some part of me, it seems.  Sometimes I just think, is she ever going to get tired of hanging out with me?  Or more to the point, hanging on me?  Then I remember that the answer, sadly, is yes.  Some day, sooner than I am ready, she will decide that her time would be better spent in someone else’s company, so I really need to cherish and enjoy these times when she is so attached to me.

One of the ways I try enjoy out time together is to have a date night with her or do a project together, something to make a memory.  I hope that one day, she’ll look back and see her childhood as a wonderful, wondrous time and that she will always remain close at heart to me.  I never want to be the one who pushed her away, telling her to grow up, she’ll grow up too fast anyway.  She’s a good kid and loves nothing more than to make me and her father happy.  I want her to grow up secure, know that she can make the right decisions, even if they aren’t the popular decisions.  There is so much we, as parents want for our kids and without any real rule book to follow, or recipe, we do our best and hope we’re getting it right.

This past month, I took Sydney out to dinner at a nice restaurant in town and to the ballet.  Just us.  We had a wonderful time.  The next week, we made a gingerbread house together, decorated it, then devoured it, well, not all of it.  I hope these moments are what she remembers and I hope some day, she has a daughter just like her to create memories with.

 

3 Responses to “Making Memories”

  1. Diane Says:

    thanks for making me cry, mama!

  2. Marcella Says:

    Wow!!! That is the best gingerbread house I have seen in a long time!! Great job.


Leave a Reply

