Free Range Nurse

Cooking therapy from a former travel nurse

Resolutions January 5, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — freerangenurse @ 9:13 pm

It’s that time of year, isn’t it? Time to make resolutions to lose weight, improve health, exercise more. I am among those trying to set out on a new journey to a better, healthier tomorrow.  My 40th birthday is coming up in a little over six months and it’s time for me to start taking care of the body that has been taking care of me.  I have joined Weight Watchers and Gold’s Gym for the new year and together with some dear friends of mine, I am determined to learn what, really, I have known all along – how to make and eat healthy food and incorporate physical activity in my everyday life.

Will this affect this blog?  Well, of course.  I blog foods that I cook, so if I am making healthier foods, they will be reflected here.  I will probably still do some desserts because I take those treats up to work.  I hope you’ll stick around and try some of the new things posted here.  I promise to make food that is tasty, even if it isn’t loaded with cream and cheese.  I may occasionally cook up something decadent, because part of re-learning healthy eating is knowing that the occasional rich dish is not forbidden, but can be enjoyed in moderation.

Cheers to all of you and to a healthy new year!

 

Delia, the Free Range Nurse

 

4 Responses to “Resolutions”

  1. Mike Alves Says:

    Stay away from the Choco Tacos. They are evil!

  2. Good for you Delia. I’m envious that you are motivated to do this. I turned 40 in November and in a perfect world I’d lose 60lbs. Eeeek! Maybe I’ll just start by trying a few of your recipes!

  3. Diane Says:

    But I LOVE Choco Tacos! 🙂 Still following, still inspired by you, and -now that I’ve joined WW, too, I’m ready…bring it on!

    • I love the ideal choco taco. I tried a real one a few months ago and was disappointed. The waffle shell was soggy and the ice cream didn’t taste real. I am determined to make one from scratch….someday.


Leave a Reply

