Free Range Nurse

Cooking therapy from a former travel nurse

Blue Cheese and the Other White Meat April 29, 2010

Filed under: dinner,pork — freerangenurse @ 9:11 am

It has been years since I’ve had a pork chop.  My husband doesn’t much care for them, so I don’t make them very often, but the other night, I had a real craving.  Not in the way I usually like my chops (just salted, peppered and baked in the oven), but with something different.  I went to one of my favorite websites – Epicurious – and searched pork chop recipes and found this.  It spoke to me.  It involved cheese.  It involved bread, and mushrooms, and butter.  Really, need I say more?  My husband was nice enough to go to the grocery store for ingredients because he is sweet like that, and because if I go, I will come back with $200.00 worth of other stuff we don’t need.  Yep, impulse buyer right here!

I altered the recipe just a bit, adding panko bread crumbs with a little dijon mustard to the outside.  I don’t believe less is more, apparently.  The results were delicious.  The blue cheese lends a nice tang to the stuffing.  I did leave one pork chop plain, however, because I know my husband wouldn’t touch blue cheese if his life depended on it.  He’s a simple man with simple tastes.  He takes his baked potato with butter only!  Disturbing, I know.  Sydney is a little more adventurous, thankfully.  She gave it thumbs up.

Blue Cheese Stuffed Pork Chops

adapted from Bon Apétit, September 1998

  • 4 1-inch thick pork chops, with or without bone, butterflied
  • 4 Tbs. butter
  • 1 1/2 cups small cubes of French bread
  • 1 cup chopped mushrooms
  • 2 Tbsp minced onion
  • 1/2 teaspoon rosemary, finely chopped
  • 1/2 cup blue cheese crumbles
  • 2 Tbs. Dijon mustard
  • 1 tsp liquid from cooked mushrooms
  • 1 cup panko bread crumbs

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  In a medium skillet over medium heat, melt 1 tablespoon butter.  Add bread cubes and saute until golden brown, about 10 minutes.  Place in a medium bowl and set aside.  Melt 1 tablespoon butter in the same skillet, add the mushrooms, rosemary and onion and saute until the onion is soft, about 5 minutes.  Drain any liquid from the pan and set aside.  Add the mushrooms, onions and rosemary to bread.  Refrigerate until cool, about 15 minutes.

Add blue cheese into bread mixture, season with salt and pepper.  Insert stuffing into pork chops, fold together and secure with skewers, if necessary.  The easiest way is to insert the skewer into the side of the meat and across to the opposite side, then insert another skewer starting on the opposite side and through (see picture), so that the skewers do not exit on the top or bottom of the chop.  This is so the front and back will come in full contact with the skillet.

Add 1 teaspoon of the reserved mushroom juice to 2 tablespoons dijon mustard and stir to combine.  Use a pastry brush to brush mixture onto closed pork chops then coat  both sides with panko bread crumbs.

Melt remaining 2 tablespoons butter in a large, oven-proof skillet over high heat.  Add pork to skillet; searing until brown, about 2 minutes per side.  Place skillet in preheated oven.  Bake pork until cooked through, about 25 minutes.

(sorry that last picture is a little blurry)

 

2 Responses to “Blue Cheese and the Other White Meat”

  1. OH MY WORD! I would eat this, die and go to heaven! I kind of don’t really like pork chops either but ONLY because they are so dry by the time I am done with them. I guess I am paranoid about undercooking them. So if I was to do salted, peppered and baked in the oven how long do you cook them? Do you use a meat thermometer?

    When I finally get a stove back in my life I hope to try some of your recipes!!

    • I usually need to bake thick ones like this about 25 minutes, but I usually pull one out and cut it to see if it is done. I don’t mind it being the ever so slightest hint of pink because I know it will finish cooking during the rest period outside the oven. I have used a meat thermometer (which I did on this recipe because I hadn’t made stuffed pork chops before) making sure it is 160 degrees F. I tested both sides on this recipe. If you are making just salted and peppered pork chops, I recommend getting the bone-in variety for more flavor.


Leave a Reply

