Free Range Nurse

Cooking therapy from a former travel nurse

Beef Fajita Salad and Creamy Cilantro Lime Dressing March 11, 2010

Filed under: beef,lunch,salad — freerangenurse @ 4:54 pm

(This is a picture from a previous attempt, I like it better with flank steak that has NOT been run through a tenderizer)

A friend recently asked if I had a recipe for creamy cilantro dressing.  Unlike last time, I didn’t tell a lie.  I said no and proceeded to look up a recipe online.  I tried a couple of different recipes and went with  this one.  I feel it is a nice, tangy compliment to the beef and not so heavy that it drowns the salad.  It is also low carb, so my friends on South Beach can enjoy it and one of my friends even likes it plain, on tortilla chips.

The fajita meat is my way of grilling in inclement weather.  I’ve mentioned before that I enjoy cooking with tequila and while I use Patron here, you could use any brand since you will be evaporating most of it away.  I do recommend using a brand you like to drink, because it does add flavor to the meat.

Lastly, the salad portion is just a baby spring mix from Central Market, but most grocery stores sell prewashed salad.

Creamy CIlantro Lime Dressing:

(taken directly from here)

  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 1 Tbsp Dijon mustard
  • 1/4 cup chopped, fresh cilantro (I use almost a whole bunch, stems removed)
  • juice of one lime
  • 4 Tbsp white wine vinegar
  • 1/4 tsp cracked black pepper

Combine everything in a food processor or blender and mix until well combined.

Cover and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes for flavors to fully incorporate.

Flank Steak:

  • 1 pound flank steak (not machine tenderized)
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/4 cup tequila
  • kosher salt
  • ground pepper

Heat olive oil in a cast iron skillet or other heavy skillet until hot, but not smoking.  Cut flank steak into two equal pieces perpendicular to grain.  Dry thoroughly with paper towels on both sides.  Season well with salt and pepper.  Place one steak in the pan and sear, resisting the urge to turn it too soon.

Once well browned (about 2-3 minutes), turn and sear the other side until desired doneness.  I recommend medium to medium-rare.

Pour tequila into the hot pan carefully and coat both sides of the steak with the tequila.  It will reduce quickly leaving a shiny coat on the meat with almost nothing left in the pan.  Remove the steak to a piece of foil, wrap and let rest for 15 minutes.  Cook the other steak in the same way.

One the steak has rested, uncover and slice thinly.  Arrange over salad greens and top with a couple of tablespoons of salad dressing.  You can also add some thinly sliced onion, avocados and crumbled cotija cheese.

 

5 Responses to “Beef Fajita Salad and Creamy Cilantro Lime Dressing”

  1. Val Says:

    This looks amazing! And it will be on our menu next week! Mike will be so pleased that it is southbeach friendly, and I’m pleased to not feel like i’m giving up flavor! Thanks so much!!

  2. Eileen Says:

    I’ll have to see if that dressing compares to mine, though I must admit it’s a bit classier than mine. The meat looks really good, I’ll make this soon

  3. Wendy Says:

    Wow! The Ninja made the pics! I sort of feel like he represents me… your getto friend that shows up checking out your gourmet blog with all your fancy tools. I had to keep re-reading though, because I couldn’t figure out if I needed salted or unsalted butter, because certainly you wouldn’t share a recipe without butter! I am thinking this would make a nice wrap in those homemade flour tortillas you and your Momma are going to show me how to make! Miss you!


Leave a Reply

