Free Range Nurse

Cooking therapy from a former travel nurse

Spanish Rice, approximately February 9, 2010

Filed under: side dishes — freerangenurse @ 7:12 pm

Because I want you to have rice with your tortilla soup, I am giving you an approximate recipe for Spanish rice.  I made this the other night to go with the soup, but because I just make it by approximating what I need, I don’t have set measurements for you.  Oh, I know I should have measured and written down the amounts that I used, but I was in a hurry to prepare it before my parents came over.  So here is a recipe with some wiggle room.

Ingredients:

  • white rice (not Minute Rice)
  • vegetable oil
  • 1 bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 yellow onion, chopped
  • a clove or two of garlic, minced
  • 1 can (carton) tomato sauce
  • 1 can Ro-Tel tomatoes with green chilies
  • water

In a large skillet, heat enough oil to barely coat the bottom of the pan (the amount you use will depend on your skillet size) over medium high heat.  Pour in enough rice to coat the skillet with a single layer.

Saute the rice until it is a medium brown color, add onion and bell pepper and saute briefly (about a minute).

Add Ro-Tel and tomato sauce, then add enough water to cover the rice.  Your total liquid content should be roughly twice the amount of the rice you used.  For example, if you used one cup of raw rice, you should use two cups of liquid to cook it, yielding two cups of cooked rice.  Remember to include the juice from the Ro-Tel in your liquid measurement.

Lower the heat to low, cover  and simmer until the rice is fully cooked.  If you are making this to eat as a side dish, add a little salt, pepper and ground cumin.  If you are adding this to the soup, you can skip that part.  I realize the recipe is somewhat lacking in specifics, but this is how I cook rice and gosh darn it, this is my blog!  Go forth and experiment.

 

Leave a Reply

