Free Range Nurse

Cooking therapy from a former travel nurse

I Scream, You Scream… January 21, 2010

Filed under: dessert — freerangenurse @ 3:37 pm

About a year ago, I was desperately trying to find cinnamon ice cream to go with a recipe I was making.  I don’t remember which recipe, but I never did find that cinnamon ice cream.  I never thought it would be so difficult to find.  I ended up with brown sugar ice cream, but it just wasn’t the same.  David Lebovitz has come along and solved my problem with his recipe for cinnamon ice cream and now I can make it whenever I want along with many other delicious flavors from his Perfect Scoop cookbook.  What I like most about his recipes is that he doesn’t seem to use as much sugar as some.  I don’t like my ice cream overly sweet and so far, I have come out with a perfect scoop every time.  I am making turon, a delicious treat from the Philippines made with plantain bananas, brown sugar and jack fruit fried up in a crispy spring roll wrapper.  Cinnamon ice cream just seems like a perfect accompaniment.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup whole milk (don’t skimp on the fat content unless you want icy ice cream)
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • pinch of salt
  • ten 3-inch cinnamon sticks, broken up
  • 2 cups heavy cream
  • 5 large egg yolks

Warm the milk, sugar, salt, cinnamon sticks and 1 cup of the cream in a saucepan.  Once warmed, remove it from the heat and just let it fill your house with love for an hour.  After the hour’s up, lift the lid and notice how fat the cinnamon got just sitting in the milk, cream and sugar.  See, it made them fat, just like….oh, nevermind.  Re-warm the milk mixture and remove the cinnamon sticks.  Pour the remaining cup of cream into a large bowl and set a mesh strainer on top.  In a separate bowl, whisk together the egg yolks.  Very slowly pour a steady stream of the warm milk mixture into the yolks while you whisk like a maniac.  You don’t want the yolks to cook, you are trying to temper them by raising the temperature very slowly.  Once you have poured all of the milk mixture in, return it to the pan and heat until the custard thickens.  You’ll know when this happens because it will coat the back of the spoon and when you draw your finger through it (and lick the deliciousness off said finger), the clean line will remain.

Pour the custard through the strainer into the cream.  Stir it over an ice bath until the mixture is cool.  Place it in the refrigerator until it is well chilled. (overnight, perhaps).

Once chilled freeze it in an ice cream freezer using manufacturer’s instructions.  Yum!

Be sure to get your copy of Perfect Scoop here.

 

4 Responses to “I Scream, You Scream…”

  1. Diane Says:

    Well. you have created a monster! Thanks for turning me on to Lebovitz -he’s awesome! Since you didn’t blog your Mexican Hot Chocolate ice cream so I can could profit from your knowledge 😉 I forged ahead alone last night and whipped up the batter. How nice to taste-test soft-serve hot chocolate ice cream while I sipped my Mexican coffee this morning. Turned out great (as did the coffee -usually Mike makes it and he was at the YMCA missing out on all this hi-calorie fun)!

    I need to calibrate my taste-testing. Have you noticed how different the flavors are when it’s frozen than when you are mixing the custard? Interesting. I wonder why that is -probably has to do the fats; the flavor seem more ‘dull’ to me before freezing. Anyway, I was a little heavy-handed with the cinnamon (nothing wrong with that, really) and the extra pinch of cayenne I added seems to have been a good call. Do tell about yours….

    • I loved the ice cream and really, really loved the swirl of dulce de leche I had running through it! Oh, it really makes it sooo much more. I plan on repeating and blogging the results. I will be making another ice cream flavor this week, although I haven’t decided which one. I’m glad I created a monster and I’ll bet Mike is even more glad! See you Tuesday!!!

  2. Diane Says:

    Cascade Fresh brand Orange Cream yogurt + a bit more sugar + a splash of Grand Marinier made FANTASTIC dreamsicle frozen yogurt! Even Mike agrees. 🙂


Leave a Reply

