Free Range Nurse

Cooking therapy from a former travel nurse

New Year Reflection and Wishes December 29, 2009

Filed under: family — freerangenurse @ 11:16 pm

This time of year always makes me think of family and our lives together.  I wonder if I am giving wonderful memories for my daughter to reflect on later.  I was lucky, I grew up in a large family and though we certainly had our share of growing pains, perhaps more than some, but definitely less than others, we always knew we had each other to lean on.

Ours is a blended family, kind of like the movie His, Mine and Ours, but with a smaller cast.  My father was married before and had three daughters.  When he divorced, he was awarded custody of them.  My mother came to the marriage with my brother, then they married and had me and many years later, my sister.  We always referred to each other as sisters and brother, not steps or halves.  Our parents have always been Mom and Dad.  I love that because that is how I feel about them.  They are my sisters and my brother.  Family.  Not half way, but in every way.

December, two years ago this month, my father and mother called with the news that Dad was diagnosed with stage 4 prostate cancer.  I still can’t believe it.  My father has always been my biggest champion, always making me feel like I was perfect in his eyes.  When I would sit on his lap and tell him about my day, he would tell me I was light as the down on a hummingbird feather.  Granted, this is terribly inaccurate, but it always lifted my spirits.  Dad is not a man of great verbosity.  If he gives praise, it is because it is well deserved, if he scolds, same thing.  So far, he is doing well with his therapy.  To look at him, you wouldn’t know he was sick.  I hope it stays that way.

Earlier this month, we threw Dad a birthday party and invited the extended family.  What a celebration.  There is nothing better in my book than being surrounded by the people you love, who love you too.

I hope this season has found you closer to the ones you love and appreciative for having them in your life.  Peace to you and prosperity in the new year.

Love,

The Free Range Nurse, Delia

 

One Response to “New Year Reflection and Wishes”

  1. Daniela Says:

    You have a lovely family.. Happy New Year!


Leave a Reply

