Free Range Nurse

Cooking therapy from a former travel nurse

This Ain’t Your Steel Magnolia’s Cuppa Cuppa Cuppa! December 25, 2009

Filed under: candy,dessert — freerangenurse @ 1:19 am

I have this recipe for toffee that I got from a friend years ago.  It has become a holiday tradition for me to make it for friends and it always gets rave reviews.  My friend Amy will eat it until she gets ulcers from it.  I take it to parties, share it with coworkers and stand back and baste myself in praise for this simple, simple recipe.  It is so simple, that my friend Jakob has renamed it Cuppa Cuppa Cuppa because that is pretty much all there is to the recipe.  I have finally decided to share the praise and let you make it for yourself and share it with those you love, or perhaps those whose love you’d like to have.

There are four ingredients in this recipe.  Butter, sugar, almonds and water.  Who knew such simple ingredients could yield such delicious results?  You won’t even need a candy thermometer!  I warn you, though, do not make substitutions unless you like wasting ingredients.  The butter must be Land O’ Lakes salted butter.  It has the perfect amount of salt to make the toffee just right.

Cuppa Cuppa Cuppa

  • 1 cup (two sticks) Land O’ Lakes lightly salted butter
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup sliced almonds, separated
  • 5 tablespoons water (1/3 cup)

Heat butter, sugar and water in a medium saucepan on high heat until butter melts.  Stir ingredients and continue to heat mixture to boiling while stirring frequently.

Butter will begin to foam and bubble up, just keep stirring.

Still boiling…

You can use a candy thermometer, but I don’t.  I have used it here only for those of you who like to deal in absolutes.

The mixture will begin to thicken up.

After several minutes the butter mixture will begin to brown.

Keep stirring until mixture reaches a uniform toffee brown color.  Candy thermometer reaches hard crack stage (310 degrees F).

Remove from heat and stir in 3/4 cup of almonds quickly.

Pour mixture out onto a buttered cookie sheet.

Spread mixture with a silicone spatula until it is uniformly thin.  Sprinkle with remaining almonds and let cool.  Remember that this mixture is pretty close to the temperature of molten lava.  Resist the urge to dip your finger in it and taste it (trust me on this).

After about an hour, come back and gently lift the toffee from the cookie sheet and using the handle of your spatula, break apart the toffee into bite size pieces.

Have a bite, then quickly package it up and get it out of your house and onto someone else’s butt and thighs!

Marinate yourself in love.

Happy holidays!

 

4 Responses to “This Ain’t Your Steel Magnolia’s Cuppa Cuppa Cuppa!”

  1. Wendy Says:

    You are a mind reader! Just when I was thinking… “Will Delia make anything easy for me?” Fast forward to this recipe- woohoo! I may just try those pineapple pancakes when I get some company one day. We’ll see if I am that brave! Thanks for sharing all your brilliance!

  2. Diane Says:

    Just poured mine out…don’t know if I can wait an hour to cool; it smells great in here! Have you ever come across a recipe for those delicious sesame seed and honey candies? It’s a similar concept, I think, though heavy on the seeds and light on the honey (ideally). Thanks for this! I will do as you say and get them out of the house ASAP!


Leave a Reply

