Free Range Nurse

Cooking therapy from a former travel nurse

White Bread… from a brown girl December 11, 2009

Filed under: bread — freerangenurse @ 9:28 am

I love baking bread!  I love kneading the dough, seeing it rise, smelling the bakery goodness in my house, having that first slice, still warm from the oven slathered in butter.  YUMMMM!  My first attempt at making bread was actually years ago.  I can only remember that the results were not great.  It could’ve been the recipe, it could’ve been the baker?  I tried again several months ago when I was out of bread here at home and decided that I’d rather make some than go to the store to buy some.  I googled a recipe for white bread and chose the first I came across, Traditional White Bread.  It’s easy to make and you probably have most of the ingredients in your house, already.  Give it a try, I’m sure you’ll love it!

Traditional White Bread

recipe from AllRecipes.com – modified ever so slightly

  • 2 (0.25 ounce) packages active dry yeast
  • 3 tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 2 1/2 cups warm water (110 degrees F)
  • 3 tablespoons salted butter
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 6 1/2 cups bread flour (or all purpose flour works fine)

In a large bowl, dissolve yeast and sugar in warm water.  Stir in butter, salt and two cups of the flour.  Stir in the remaining flour, 1/2 cup at a time, beating well after each addition.  When the dough has pulled together, turn it out onto a lightly floured surface and knead until smooth and elastic, about 8 minutes.

Lightly oill a large bowl, place the dough in the bowl and turn to coat with oil.  Cover with a damp cloth and let rise in a warm place until doubled in volume, about 1 hour.

Deflate the dough and turn it out onto a lightly floured surface.  Divide the dough into two equal pieces and form into loaves.  Place the loaves into two lightly greased 9 x 5 inch loaf pans.  Cover the loaves with a damp cloth and let rise until doubled in volume, about 40 minutes.

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.  Place loaves in oven and lower temp to 375.

Bake at 375 degrees F for about 15 minutes, brush tops with butter and continue baking for 15 minutes or until the top is golden brown and the bottom of the loaf sounds hollow when tapped.

 

2 Responses to “White Bread… from a brown girl”

  1. lynn mcintosh Says:

    I’m so glad I found your site! Found it at PW’s site. I love your humor “white bread from a brown girl” — makes me want to give you a big hug!!


Leave a Reply

