Free Range Nurse

Cooking therapy from a former travel nurse

Tequila (nearly tequiled me) Shrimp November 11, 2009

Filed under: dinner,seafood — freerangenurse @ 10:00 am

Tequila Shrimp with Corn TamalitosMy days off of work are generally spent in two places, on the couch with the laptop on its namesake, searching recipes, facebooking, window shopping online or in the kitchen cooking up those recipes.  I love trying new recipes, tasting new flavors and I get most of my current recipes from the internet.  It all started with a recipe for Rao’s meatballs.

I will get into the Rao’s story another time, but the search for that recipe was the path that led me to posting recipes with pictures on facebook, which then led to a blog called Smitten Kitchen.  When I posted the results of the Rao’s recipe, a friend posted a comment that they looked like photos from Smitten Kitchen.  I had never heard of it before, but was intrigued.  Then, I was in love and food envy!  I began trying Deb’s recipes and posting pictures and taking samples up to work.

Eventually, people began asking for the recipes and suggesting I start my own blog.  At first I resisted because, well Smitten Kitchen already exists and I was basically just whipping up her recipes and Barefoot Contessa recipes, but then I began getting comfortable enough to change and alter those recipes as well as others I found through various websites and magazines.  After all, isn’t that what cooking is about?  Learning, adapting, changing, creating. So here I am, trying a new recipe and posting it to my blog.

This recipe is one I found on Epicurious.com when I was looking for something to make with some large shrimp I had just bought.  As it so happened, I had just been to the liquor store as well and come home with a fresh bottle of Patron tequila (and maybe, perhaps a few other friends).  The recipe sounded easy enough and had limited ingredients and included flambe!  Sold!  I’ve always wanted to set an intentional fire in my kitchen!

Well….

Intentional nearly turned into unintentional burning down the house!  I lit the tequila and took a picture then gently stirred a couple of times as the recipe suggested to quiet down the flame, but instead the flame shot up and nearly set the silicone handle cover on fire.  Never one to panic (yeah, right) I quickly shot another picture, then grabbed a large lid to smother the fire.  One problem…large lid, not large enough.  Crap!  I went back into the cabinet, which put my hair dangerously close to the inferno and grabbed a larger lid.  Success!  I added the crema and no one was the wiser <heavy sigh of relief>.

I served the shrimp with Corn tamalitos from the California Pizza Kitchen cookbook and a little reduced red pepper soup poured over.

Fired upReally fired up

Tequila Shrimp

(Gourmet magazine, September 2007)

  • 1.5 pounds large shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 3/4 tsp coarsely ground black pepper
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup white or reposado tequila (I used Patron Anejo)
  • 3/4 cup sour cream or crema
  • 1 scallion, thinly sliced (I omitted this)

Toss shrimp with kosher salt and pepper.

Heat butter in a 12-inch heavy skillet over medium-high heat until foam subsides, then sauté shrimp, turning, until pink and just cooked through, 3 to 5 minutes.  Reduce heat and add tequila, then increase heat to medium-high.  Tilt skillet over gas burner to ignite tequila (or do as I did and use a long skewer to transfer fire from burner to skillet).  Cook, shaking skillet gently once or twice, until flames subside.  Remove from heat and stir in crema.  Serve sprinkled with scallion (if using).  Enjoy and try not to set the kitchen or yourself on fire.

 

5 Responses to “Tequila (nearly tequiled me) Shrimp”

  1. Val Says:

    Looks so professional! I mean it! WOW! Love the fire pic, adds a real nice touch. 🙂

  2. Eileen Says:

    How could that not be good! Some of my favorite food groups are included! Seafood, Dairy and Tequila!

  3. emphasis on the tequila! It’s my favorite food group. It was delicious! Worth singeing an eyebrow or two.

  4. Diane Says:

    Too funny! But I’m proud of you for sticking with the lids…I would have just grabbed the fire extinguisher that I keep in the kitchen and ruined the dish! Next time, tie your hair back, at least. 😉

  5. […] for.  A slightly smoky flavor, more spice, more heat and a little tequila never killed anyone (it just nearly did).  I took my salsa up to work, where honestly, you have to pretty much throw food items on the […]


Leave a Reply

