Free Range Nurse

Cooking therapy from a former travel nurse

Moroccan Carrot Soup February 1, 2011

Filed under: lunch,soup — freerangenurse @ 4:38 pm

Moroccan Carrot Soup

This morning I woke up to the sound of rain and wind pounding my house.  The cold front that was promised has definitely moved in!  The temperature had dropped from a very spring-like 78 yesterday to a wintery (for central Texas) 35 and falling.  Tonight we are supposed to be in the teens!  I had a feeling this pseudo spring was going to be short lived.  I don’t know about you, but when Jack Frost is nipping at my nose, all I want is a warm bowl of comfort called soup.  In a happy little bit of serendipity, I came across this recipe for carrot soup and decided to try it.  I ran the recipe through the old points program and it is VERY points friendly!  You can eat half the recipe for a mere 7 points!!!  That would be about 2 cups of soup.  Best of all, it has such a wonderful sweet, smokey, subtly spicy flavor.  I’m wishing I had made a double batch!  The addition of a little plain non-fat yogurt really ups the richness factor, too and it is included in the points value!  I hope you’ll like it as much as I do!

Moroccan Carrot Soup

adapted from Epicurious
Moroccan Carrot Soup
Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 cup chopped white onion
  • 1 pound carrots, cut into 1/2 inch dice
  • 2 1/2 cups vegetable or chicken broth (I used veggie)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons cumin seeds
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground allspice
  • 1/2 cup plain, non-fat yogurt, stirred to loosen (you could also use greek yogurt for a little extra punch)
  • kosher salt and white pepper to taste (you could use black, but I used white, so it wouldn’t show)

Melt butter in a large saucepan over medium-high heat until browned.  Add onion; sauté 2 minutes.  Stir in carrots and sauté another minute or two.  Add broth; bring to a boil, then reduce heat, cover and let simmer until carrots are very tender, about 20-25 minutes.

In a small skillet, heat cumin seeds over medium-high heat until fragrant and toasted, about 4 minutes; cool.  Finely grind in a spice mill or a molcajete (see photo).

Remove the soup from heat and using an immersion blender, puree until smooth.  You could also use a blender or a Ninja (I love my Ninja).  Whisk in honey, lemon juice, and allspice.  Season with salt and pepper.

Ladle into soup bowl and spoon a dollop of yogurt over (about 1/8 cup per cup of soup).  Sprinkle generously with cumin.  Feel warm and fuzzy inside!!
Moroccan Carrot Soup

 

6 Responses to “Moroccan Carrot Soup”

  1. Lynn (aka Mike Alves' wife) Says:

    You should try mushroom broth in place of chicken or vege broth. I love it and don’t buy anything else anymore.

  2. Jessica Says:

    This sounds great and I love that color! So beautiful!

  3. Diane Says:

    Tell the truth: you ground that cumin in a spare coffee grinder and then poured it into the molcajete for the photo, didn’t you? ;)

    This sounds delicious, and a nice mix-up from the carrot-ginger that I’m so used to. Thanks for another great idea!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.