Free Range Nurse

Cooking therapy from a former travel nurse

Shrimp Piccata on Pasta January 15, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — freerangenurse @ 11:15 am

Shrimp Piccata over pasta

Re-learning portions has been an adventure.  It makes me think back to all the bowls (yes, plural) of pasta I used to eat.  Sometimes two bowls of spaghetti in one meal!  Ugh!  It’s embarrassing now, but at the time it was just delicious.  Of course, about 1 minute after the last forkful, it was uncomfortable.  Buttons had to be undone, posture had to be relaxed, because, my brain is apparently a long way from the stretch sensors in my stomach and the telegraph line (you’ve got yours and I’ve got mine… – 10 points if you can tell me the next line) is a little bit slow.  Now that I weigh everything, I can see how much more I was eating over what I should have been eating.  The funny thing is, I’m not any more hungry after dinner now, but I’m also not struggling to take a deep breath and I’m not sluggish and uncomfortable.  A definite improvement!

Tonight’s dinner started out as a bit of an indulgence.  I was wanting pasta with my shrimp and a nice sauce to go with and I had a pretty good amount of points left for dinner.  Once I put the recipe in Weight Watchers Recipe Tracker and made a few tweaks, it actually came out very points friendly at only 11 points per serving, including the pasta!  Did I mention it has wine?  and BUTTER!  I would dare say it has too much butter (cue sound of tires screeching to a halt)!  I dialed back the butter in the recipe below and I bet you won’t miss it, because you’ll still taste it.  So without further ado, here’s your pasta and butter dish!

Shrimp Piccata on Pasta

(makes 4 servings)

adapted from Epicurious

  • 1 pound of shrimp (I used pre-cooked, peeled shrimp)
  • 2 Tbsp unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 Tbsp all purpose flour
  • 1/3 cups white wine
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup capers, rinsed and drained
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice, freshly squeezed
  • 1/3 cups fat free, reduced-sodium chicken broth
  • 8 ounces capellini
  • I also added some red bell pepper, diced (for color)

Bring some water to boil in a large pot.  Once boiling, add pasta and cook until al dente.  Remove from heat, but do not drain.

While the pasta is cooking, combine 1 Tbsp of the butter with the flour to make a thick paste, set aside.  Heat wine, stock, garlic, and lemon juice over medium heat until boiling.  Add flour/butter mixture and whisk until incorporated.  Continue to boil until thickened, about 2 minutes.  Add the capers, parsley, remaining butter (red peppers, if you are using them) and shrimp and toss to coat.  Heat only until shrimp is warm, don’t over cook unless you like rubbery shrimp.

Drain pasta and divide evenly among four plates.  Using a slotted spoon, remove shrimp and place over pasta.  The remaining sauce can be divided among the four plates.  Serve with a nice salad, or my favorite stand-by, sauteed spinach.  Enjoy the decadence of an 11 point meal!

 

3 Responses to “Shrimp Piccata on Pasta”

  1. Diane Says:

    Ooooh, great addition! You know I love anything with shellfish. A pasta-lover, too, I don’t want to see anymore wincing from you at the idea of whole grain pasta. Those crappy wheat spirals you had probably DID suck, but there are some lovely spelt, buckwheat, brown rice, etc…. Give them another try, I think you’ll find some you like. Oh, the corn ones mostly disappoint, though. :)

  2. Mike Alves Says:

    I am soo not on the whole wheat pasta train.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.