Free Range Nurse

Cooking therapy from a former travel nurse

Seared Tuna January 14, 2011

Filed under: dinner,lunch,seafood — freerangenurse @ 2:13 pm

Seared Tuna

One of my favorite pre-weight watchers foods, that is actually one of my favorite post weight watchers foods has to be seared tuna. I love Ahi tuna’s mild flavor and melt in your mouth tenderness. I even love Ahi completely raw where the flavor is even more mild and fresh and the texture is like that of a perfectly medium rare tenderloin – not mushy, just spoon tender. Yum! I occasionally buy sashimi grade tuna and either sear it or just chop it up with some Japanese spicy mayo and eat it on a cracker with some avocado, but today I decided to have seared tuna for lunch.

I poked around the internet looking for inspiration, all the while thinking about coating the tuna in sesame seeds, but feeling like it needed something more.  I came across this recipe from Steamy Kitchen and incorporated some of it into my version.  I didn’t have any wasabi lying around, but I did have some teriyaki marinade from Central Market.  I read the ingredients from the bottle of Asian sesame seeds I had and noticed that it contained some spices (garlic, sweet red pepper flakes, green chili flakes, turmeric, and ginger) along with the seeds.  The following is what I ended up with.  It is paired with 2/3 cup of sushi rice and a stir fried zucchini with 1/3 of a red bell pepper.  The tuna was definitely the star! Total WW points for the whole plate, 9 points. Yes, NINE, for the whole meal. Woohoooo!

Note: If you are afraid of eating raw/undercooked fish, just turn the heat down a little and cook it longer, but please try it a little rare someday.  It really is a completely different taste, less fishy,  and as long as you are eating sashimi grade, it is safe.  Twenty years of eating raw tuna and I’m still kicking!  The Japanese have been doing it for slightly longer.

Seared Tuna
Here’s what I used:

  • 1 95g piece of sashimi grade Ahi (yellow fin) tuna
  • 1/4 cup Central Market Teriyaki Sauce/Marinade
  • 1/4 cup Adams Reserve Asian Spice Rub (purchased at HEB)
  • 1 tsp toasted sesame oil
  • sea salt, to taste
  • freshly ground black pepper

Heat a well seasoned cast iron skillet (or stainless steel) over medium to medium-high heat and add oil.  Meanwhile pat the tuna steak dry, then place it on a shallow dish with the teriyaki sauce to marinate briefly, turning to coat each side.  When I say briefly, I mean no more than 2 minutes per side.  On another shallow dish or plate, spread the Asian rub and place the tuna on the seeds, turning to coat all sides.  Sprinkle a little salt and pepper and pat, to adhere the seeds/seasonings to all sides.

Place the steak into the pre-warmed pan and cook for about 2 -3 minutes, then turn and cook the opposite side for 2-3 minutes.  I like to sear mine all the way around, so I also use tongs to hold the steak on its side and sear each side for about 1 minute each.  You don’t want your heat too high because you don’t want to burn your sesame seeds, causing them to taste bitter and burnt, so if you are cooking your steak until it is cooked through, turn your heat down a little.  Once the tuna is seared all the way around, you can tent it in some foil to keep it warm while you stir fry your veggies.  I cooked mine using 1 tsp olive oil and medium-high heat.  If you are making the sushi rice, you will need to start that well before you start the fish as it takes the longest to cook.  I hope you will try this slightly exotic dish, because I really think you will like it.

Seared Tuna

I know my tuna looks very raw in these pictures, but remember, I like it all the way raw, just cook yours a little longer to taste.

 

2 Responses to “Seared Tuna”

  1. Diane Says:

    Made this tuna tonight and it was delicious! Mine was not *quite* rare enough by your standards, but not for lack of trying (I split one piece of fish to share with Mike and the smaller portions cooked faster than I could keep up with). More impressive was my improvised “crust” -can you believe I actually had both kinds of sesame seeds on hand? I was shocked! I seared and barely braised some halved Brussels sprouts and whipped up some leftover baked sweet potatoes with just a smidge of butter, a splash of milk and some spices to go with. The tuna was the star, though. We both agreed to put it on regular rotation -and even rarer next time!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.